Alphabets

by Ravemore

Alphabets go hand in hand with symbols used in arcane workings. There are a myriad of old alphabets used in ceremonial magic, including but not limited to the Theban, Gnostic, and various Runic sets. My path uses the common English alphabet for various reasons which I will outline.

The first is that English is my native language and I have a firm grasp on not only its literal usage and application, but also the nuances. In working magic, having this familiarity allows me to use much more vivid imagery, which is a prime ingredient in successful workings. The mystical imagery is then attributed to the meaning of my words… not the letters themselves. With it I can craft elaborate charms and devious curses. They can have layers that are truly “woven” incantations. This makes it much more difficult for them to be countered or deconstructed.

Second, viewing a circle during a ritual with inscriptions and imagery that I can readily understand and connect with provides greater power than one in which I can only see a bunch of cool looking old symbols which I cannot readily attribute meanings to in my mind.

Finally, the use of ritual alphabets was primarily a security measure that is not presently applicable. If your book of rituals is scribed in Theban and is taken, any half-wit with internet access can easily decipher your writings. Use of various number related codes is a much better way to secure sensitive writings if you deem it necessary. Translating your writings from an ancient alphabet every time you want to perform a ritual would be a pain as well.

For these reasons I do not use them.