Taking Stock

by Ravemore

Having recently moved to Ohio from Washington State and settling into a new position at work, things are beginning to settle down and I’m having some extra time to scribe some of my thoughts into the ether. It has been a rough year and a half preparing for this role. Now there is no more subdivision and neighbors boxing me in, looking over my fences… or peering into my home from nearby windows. No more wailing babies, their presence being carried to my ears by a light breeze over a short distance. What do I have now? Peace? A feeling of freedom from oppressive societal bonds? Yes… all of those. A large five acre plot of hilly forested land, streams, and no neighbors… Spirits roaming and inhabiting the dark nooks encased in thick foliage. I can feel them… sense their curiosity, and perhaps a hint of darkness? Something primal? I sit on the patio in the evenings when there is a reprieve from the oppressive humidity and puff on my tobacco pipe, lost in thought. Plans for a forest temple are coming together. These woods will observe Left Hand Rites. The Old Gods will be worshiped here. They will have their pagan idols. They will have their witch…